How To Easily Turn Off Alerts For Memories In Photos On iOS

4
1027

Facebook has an ‘On this day’ feature that automatically reminds you what you posted around the same time in years past. It has been around for some time now so we’re assuming people like it. The Photo app in iOS has something very similar called ‘Memories’. There is a dedicated Memories tab in the Photos app. It can automatically help you generate memories or you can create the memories yourself. As of iOS 11, these memories will make themselves more obvious. From now you will get alerts for the memories that you have previously gotten for a particular day right on your lock screen. It’s justifiable if this feature does not excite you. If that is the case, you can turn off alerts for Memories in Photos

There are actually two ways to turn off alerts for Memories in Photo.

Turn Off Alerts For Photos

You can turn off alerts for the Photos app although this will also turn off the alerts for shared photo streams. If you do not use Photostreams, then you disabling alerts is a perfect solution. To turn off notifications for Photos, simply open the Settings app. Now, Go to the Notifications and tap Photos. Turn off the ‘Allow Notifications’ switch.

 

turn off alerts

Turn Of Alerts For Memories

If you would prefer not to disable notifications for Photos, you can simply opt to turn off alerts for Memories in Photos. Open the Settings app and go to Notifications. Tap Photos. On the Photos screen, you will see an option called ‘Memories’. Tap it.

The Memories screen does not have an explicit off switch though, but it does have the usual options for alerts i.e. Show in History, Show in Cover sheet, and Show as Banner. Turn off all the three option there. This will effectively turn off alerts for Memories. You will still be able to get alerts for Photostreams in iCloud.

 

In case you’re just concerned about Memories alerts is that it shows a photo thumbnail on your phone lock screen, you can disable the notification preview for Memories. You will still be getting alerts for when you have memories to look back on but the alert won’t feature a photo thumbnail. This feature is a standard notification alert in iOS.

Photos and Camera app are a selling point for both iPhones and iOS. Every year, Apple improves on them. Memories as a feature were added back in iOS 10 and have been very popular for creating events curated slideshows. iOS is great at creating these memories and they’re always pretty cool to share. No one would mistake them for a hack-job college and that is absolutely why people love using them.

4 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here